Writing without Hurry has been published!

I apologize for the long delay since my last post. My excuse is that I was busy revising, editing, proofing and submitting for publication my new book on journaling. I had no idea the publishing process was so time-consuming! But now it is all done, and the book is available in bookstores, on the Web and as an e-book for Kindle and other platforms. You can find the book on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, the Apple iBookstore, Smashwords, Sony, Kobo and a few others. This book took me a year to write, and it includes most of what I know about journal writing and the methods for conducting a journal inquiry.

The book is called Writing without Hurry: A Mindful Meditative Approach to Journal Writing and Personal Transformation, by (yours truly) Kenneth Pryor. I hope you take the time to purchase a copy and work through the exercises and examples for effective journal writing. My focus throughout the book is to teach you to write carefully and mindfully whenever you take out your journal and start to write. I talk about the importance of structured writing using an optimistic writing style, and I walk you through all the steps of writing journal entries that work for working out personal problems, dealing with difficult emotions, clarifying values, setting goals and working out a master plan for your life.

If you like the book, please take the time to write a review for it. Reviews on Amazon are especially important! This is a different sort of book about journaling—it is about slowing down and thinking carefully about what you need to write. My belief is that journal writing should be done mindfully and thoughtfully. It should lead you from questions and uncertainty about important issues to resolution of problems and renewed certainty. Good journal writing should give you the sense that you are putting your best effort into addressing important issues in your life, the kind of effort that makes you go deeper within than you normally go. Then you find the wisdom you need.

Journal writing is an art. It leads you to the limits of what you know and helps you explore serious issues with the kind of attention that leads you to grow and make leaps of understanding. Writing in a journal requires both the attention of the objective rational mind and the intuitive feeling-centered mind—by writing slowly and with mindful attention, you learn to rely on both the sources of wisdom in your mind. You learn to look for intuitive confirmation for the answers you find and to look for certainty about the course you will take. In the course of the book, I teach you to approach your writing as a meditation, a meditation with a purpose, and I teach you about the basics of mindfulness as a personal meditative practice.

I hope you enjoy the book, and I hope you learn the valuable lessons about writing thoughtfully, mindfully and without hurry. Working with your journal in the ways that I recommend teaches you the important art of reflection about important matters in your life. It teaches you the ways to find understanding and insight in complicated situations, and it teaches you important lessons about managing your emotional life. If you have comments or feedback about the book, please leave me a post here at WordPress, and I will do my best to respond to you promptly. Thank you for reading—I hope you learn the key point, which is to give your journal work the time and attention it deserves. Happy journaling!

The link to Amazon.com is: http://www.amazon.com/Writing-without-Hurry-Meditative-Transformation/dp/1483916812/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1371249148&sr=1-1&keywords=writing+without+hurry

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

